Sean Anderson wins AFT D-96 tournament

There were 14 anglers fishing the Division 96 1-day qualifier tournament at Lake Murray January 20. They brought in 42 fish to the scales that weighed a total of 109.63 lbs.

The day started out 59 degrees with 15 mph winds, the temperature dropped as the winds increased through the day to reach nearly 40 degrees with 20-25 mph winds. Lake Murray’s water temperature averaged 49-51 degrees and the water level was down 10 ft, due to some aggressive tactics to control invasive shoreline weeds. The water level is scheduled to be returned to normal levels by spring.

First place, Sean Anderson had a five-fish limit of 15.84lbs. anchored by a 5.33lbs kicker. The payback for first place, first place option, earned Anderson $490, along with the first place trophy. He caught his fish in and around Dreher Island State Park, on rocky points with a small crankbait.

Second place, Jason Moyer had a five-fish limit weighing 15.18lbs, anchored with a 5.20lbs kicker. The payback for second place and second place option earned him $255 to go along with the second place trophy. Moyer also caught his fish on a similar pattern.

Third place, Pual Selle had a five-fish limit weighing 15.10lbs. The payback for third place was $80 and the third place trophy.

Fourth Place, Mark Osbourn had a five-fish limit weighing 14.73lbs. he received $50 cash and a $25 gift certificate from the tourney’s newest sponsor Hunters Headquarters of Greenwood.

– Fifth Place Will Anderson had a five-fish limit weighing 14.28lbs. He received a Level Performance Rods Hat and a $50 discount coupon that can be used towards the online purchase of any Level Performance Rod.

Steve Christy won the Big Fish Trophy and a payout of $80.

The next D-96 tournament for the 2019 season is a Division 1-Day Qualifier on Clark Hill, February 17 out of the Dorn Facility ramp.

Complete results and news on


Group photo from right to left: Big Fish Winner Steve Christy, 1st place Sean Anderson, 2nd place Jason Moyer, 3rd place Pual Selle, 4th place Mark Osbourn, and 5th place Will Anderson. 

Leave a Reply